Real Life wins...tonight...
I have been at a new job for 3 months now, things have been good, and I finally got into a groove where I could manage my time and start DJ'ing in SL again. I was supposed to DJ at Schmooze tonight, for Metal Tuesday, as I have done the past few weeks. Well yesterday at work was a BITCH (I work at a very busy, 5-doctor animal hospital by the way), so I should have figured tonight wouldn't have been different since most of Monday's patients would still be there needing treatment and care, in addition to my normal duties.
I was right...and not only that but when I took my shower before work I got water in my good ear, which happens to be my right ear (I was born 100% deaf in my left ear), and of course this has happened before, but NEVER to this extent...it was horrific, threw my equilibrium off, and just had me in a miserable mood. Oh I tried all the tricks...jumping up and down, smacking myself in the side of the head (lmao), flushing it with peroxide at a co-worker's advice...all proved to be futile. Think having neverending hiccups...just as annoying. Lasted about 6 hours and finally cleared, saving my sanity when I needed it most.
Ok, so here I want to interject with the number one annoyance about Q: I use ellipses (...) like candy. BAD!!
Excalmation points are next!!!! Mwhahahaaa!!!
And LOL, lmao, and lmaoooooo come next. What can i say? I am a product of the old AOL chat rooms. :-P
And yes, try to restrain yourselves, I always include noses in my smile faces... :-) :-P :-/
ANYWAY!! (Ok, lets add capital letters to this rapidly growing list), I had to call Nog and have him log into to SL to tell Travis that I just was not going to make it tonight. Travis's 'net was borked anyway so it worked out that we were both kinda (<---note: bad slang grammar) "out of order". I was disappointed because this was to be my first show since the successful fashion show we held on Sunday during SL's 3rd Birthday Weekend and I wanted to go on-air still fresh from the high to thank everyone involved. Man, what a long strange trip that was!! The idea came about only a week or so before the SL birthday weekend, and we worked night and day to make it as perfect as it could be. 7 of SL's best models, 7 top-notch designers, topped at 66 people in the sim that I saw, started 25 minutes late, lasted over 2 hours (which is kinda long for an SL fashion show), and finished event still having 44 in attendance, I believe. SUCCESS!! Not to mention the after-party that Tya DJ'ed at Schmooze which just ROCKED totally. Of course this event was not to end without drama in IM's (completely unrelated to anyone involved in the show, for the record) ::rolls eyes:: But we were not about to let that ruin the night....mute and ban works wonders!! :-)) I live my SL pretty drama-free...that doesn't mean I am not in-the-know of other people's drama, just means that I stay unbiased, listen to whoever wants to talk, offer advice if I have any (with disclaimers LOL) and go on with my life and business. And its a very nice life. I don't want to hide behind alts, I can't act worth a shit, and am way too trusting for my own good. Does that mean that Q has no secrets?? LOL..well of course I do, but you ain't finding out about them here (and those closest to me DO know about them, nothing earth-shattering, and yes I am a straight female in RL before you ask hehe) ;-) But they are harmless secrets and thats all I will say on that subject. Amazing how blogs have become the new black...they used to be just for useless ramblings like I have done here, yet they have become a staple to my SL life; the fashion blogs, like Second Style Fashionista, Linden Lifetsyles , and PXP OMG I'm a n00b!! I didn't know how to make those hyperlinks right away, took me a few minutes to figure it out :-/ Anyway, I check them several times daily, like I do with the New Products section of the SL forums. It's refreshing and fun to see what others find in their travels and have to say about stuff available in SL. It is one of those "why didn't I think of that *cries and stomps feet*" type of things LOL, but I need another project with deadlines like I need a hole in my head anyway.
Ok I have tomorrow (Wed.) off and am joining my dear father for dinner and so he can give me a glove for a softball game that I drunkenly agreed to participate in on July 9th. I agreed thinking I was still the softball "star" that I was back in my younger years, then realized upon waking up sober the next day that I haven't played in about 15 or 16 years :-O So I am either gonna kick ass or break some bones...if I start doing a ton of blogging after July 9th go ahead an assume I am laid-up in all but a full bodycast :-P
I'll leave you tonight on an exciting note..U2 in SL, which is loved by many, yet faced some controversy in the past due to copyright issues even though NO money is gained by it, has made it to MTV News.. read all about it and check out the video (which loaded for me with IE but not with Mozilla) here: http://www.mtv.com/games/video_games/news/story.jhtml?id=1535128
Having been a fan, supporter, "Prim Police" and introduction DJ for some U2 in SL shows, this was extremely awesome to see! Its yet another piece in the puzzle of real life converging with Second Life...I guess my opinions on that are mixed, I am both enchanted by the concept but still scared by it...more in future blog posts.
For now, I take leave (...insert ellipses and LOL!!) :-P
~Q~
